Saturday, October 29, 2011

Plentycast #28

It's lucky we don't broadcast this live as you would have heard a couple of snafu's in this latest programme. Yes, let's speak into the microphone when the switch on the microphone is in the "off" position. That makes sense doesn't it...?

So, history is edited out, it's as if it never happened and we move on with nobody getting hurt. I think this edition is the perfect mix of loud, quiet and everything in between and it flows quite nicely. Us being us, we got distracted a couple of times and ended up digressing off the subject but hey where's the fun in sticking to the topic?

Well, we got to grips with the technology in the end and I hope the songs speak for themselves. Not quite the amount of new stuff as in the previous show but as John's fond of saying from time to time "a song could be new to somebody somewhere".

Let's do this thing...

Tracklisting -

1. Ligament - Theme From Ligament
2. David Dondero - South Of The South
3. Elizabeth Cotten - Freight Train
4. American Music Club - Nightwatchman
5. Dinosaur Jr - Severed Lips
6. Torche - Across The Shields
7. Entombed - Eyemaster
8. High On Fire - Speedwolf
9. Ian Humberstone - House On The Hill
10. Lee Hazlewood - Cold Hard Times
11. Rob St John - Sargasso Sea
12. eagleowl - Sorry I Spoke

Friday, October 14, 2011

Plentycast #27

Ah, the perils of technology listeners...

We first tried to record this on Monday night (the 10th) but we had a total 'mare with the mic so all the vocal bits sounded like the production of Carcass's Reek Of Putrefaction LP (i.e. not good). That meant a re-record as I didn't want to put something out that sounded pretty bad so we come to tonight instead. The mic issue was resolved, we used a new bit of software that meant we could record it totally live (instead of in a cut & paste stylee as before) so that cut down a lot on editing and post-production so here we are publishing the podcast on the same night it was recorded! Riches indeed...

Including FIVE songs from 2011! A feat that may never be repeated in all likelihood! Unprecedented scenes at PS Towers this evening. Jocky got so excited that he nearly left his council flat in Smeaton to have a game of arrows. Nearly...

On you go...

Tracklisting -

1. Done Lying Down - Just A Misdemeanor
2. Nirvana - Aneurysm
3. Bert Jansch - It Don't Bother Me
4. Yo La Tengo - Needle Of Death
5. R.E.M. - Country Feedback
6. Wild Flag - Racehorse
7. Fotheringay - The Sea
8. Emily Scott - I Saw You
9. Oxes - Crunchy Zest
10. The Jesus Lizard - Nub
11. Helms Alee - Pretty As Pie
12. Wolves In The Throne Room - Subterranean Initiation